2017 Tourism For Tomorrow Awards Opened For Entries

Anyone working towards a more responsible tourism sector can now apply for the 2017 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) has announced. Entries are open to individuals, organisations and destinations of all sizes in these five categories – Community, Destination, Environment, Innovation and People.

The WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards aim at recognising best practice in sustainable tourism within the industry globally, based upon the principles of environmentally friendly operations; support for the protection of cultural and natural heritage; and direct benefits to the social and economic well-being of local people in travel destinations around the world. These annual awards are among the highest accolades in the industry and represent the gold standard in sustainable tourism.


The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) challenged Travel and Tourism organisations to show how sustainable they are by entering their sustainable business initiatives for the 2017 awards.


David Scowsill, President & CEO, WTTC said: “I am pleased to announce that the twenty-eighth annual Tourism for Tomorrow Awards programme is now open for entries. Through the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2017 we shall highlight the commitment of the Travel & Tourism sector to the Sustainable Development Goals adopted by all 193 Member States of the United Nations in September 2015.”


Companies and organisations that enter for these awards can show governments and other tourism organisations how growth and successful business models go hand in hand with the safeguarding of local communities, the environment and cultural heritage.


Fiona Jeffery OBE, former Chairman of World Travel Market and Founder and Chairman of the international water aid charity Just a Drop, will be chairing the Awards for the third time.


She commented: “Tourism is a force for good, it connects people from different cultural backgrounds and environments. The WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards celebrate the achievements of ethical tourism businesses around the world that look to give back to local communities by enhancing livelihoods where they operate and protecting the environment and cultural traditions to ensure a sustainable world for the future. I am delighted to be chairing again, and hope to again see many inspirational businesses apply for the 2017 programme.”


Lead judge, Professor Graham Miller, chair in sustainability in business at the University of Surrey, will oversee a rigorous independent judging and on-site evaluation process carried out by an international panel of experts representing academia, non-profit organisations, government and the private sector.


The 2017 Finalists will be announced in January 2016 and the winners will be announced during the WTTC Global Summit 2017 in Bangkok, 26-27 April 2017.


In 2015 the Soneva Group were winners of the Environment Award; Feynan Ecolodge were Finalists, Community Award, and Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, Finalist, Community Award.


Apply now 

KEEP IN THE LOOP. Add your name to our mailing list and keep informed on The Long Run.